Snowflake ornament and svg files

I try to make personalized ornaments every year.  This year I made snowflake ornaments using shrink plastic and SCAL.  I used shrink plastic that you can use in your inkjet printer and printed a photo of my kids on it.  To center the photo in the snowflake I used the hinge method described here, except when using SCAL it isn’t necessary to note the blade location.  I used a 60° blade and multicut.  One word of caution, I had to use a new blade for each snowflake to get a  clean cut.  I used a multi-cut of 4x with a new blade, the second snowflake required 8x and the edges were not as clean.  This was what it looked like after I baked it.

Here are two versions of this snowflake.  Snowflake A was my original design, and Snowflake B was my modification for the photo.

The download is a zipped folder with svg files for use in either version of SCAL. These files are for personal use only. Feel free to link to this post, but the files are not to be shared or distributed in any way.

Download the files from here.

8 Responses to Snowflake ornament and svg files

  1. Nancy says:

    Thank you for sharing. This was just what I was looking for!

  2. Pat Hall says:

    Didn’t download anything but your work is very good and you are kind to share. Thank you

  3. Thank you Heather for the snowflake…yours are the prettiest of anyone I have seen…I’m cutting one right now..

  4. Cindy says:

    Love the ornament. Just adorable! Thanks for sharing

  5. Evelyn says:

    The snowflakes are really pretty, Heather. Thanks for sharing them.

    I have had the same blade in my Cricut since I got it almost a year ago. How do you know when you need a new blade?

    Evelyn

    • imagesbyheatherm says:

      Hi Evelyn,

      You know that you need to change your blade when your cuts start looking ragged or the corners are tearing more than usual. Also, as your blade gets duller you may also need to increase the blade depth/pressure. In the case of the shrink plastic I had to cut the file twice as many times and the edge wasn’t as clean.

  6. Marilyn says:

    great idea…thanks for sharing your file!

  7. Thank you so much for this Freebie. I want to let you know that I posted a link to your blog in Creative Busy Hands Cricut Freebies Search List, under the Elements post on Jan. 04, 2010. Thanks again.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 612 other followers

