Fixing shadowing in SCAL 2.004 with square corners

The default settings in SCAL2 result in squared off points when shadowing shapes or svg files.  The image below shows two stars: a plain star, and an identical star with the default shadow.

default shadowing

This can be fixed by changing the default settings.  From the menu, select Edit/Preferences.  The Preference dialog box will appear.  Deselect the “Default Shadowing” check box. 

 

shadowing preferences 

This is also where you can select other preferences, such as the SVG dpi (90 for Inkscape or 72 for Adobe Illustrator) and “Keep Proportions”.

The image below shows the same two stars without  the “Default Shadowing”.  This appears to work for both the SCAL shapes and imported svg files.  It doesn’t appear to make a change in the disappearing text though.

not default shadowing

7 Responses to Fixing shadowing in SCAL 2.004 with square corners

  1. Judy Koch says:

    Thank you for your very helpful tutorials…..I am sure they will help me to more fully enjoy and use SCAL 2

  2. Debbie says:

    I have Scal2,how do I know if I need to update my version?

    • imagesbyheatherm says:

      You can have SCAL check for updates when it starts up. To do that, open SCAL, then from the menu select Edit/Preferences. Click on the Updates tab and select “Automatically check for updates”, click “OK”. You can find out what version you have by either watching the window when you start SCAL or you can use Help/About in the SCAL menu. You can check here for the latest version available. HTH

  3. Edith says:

    Scal 2 version I have does not show default shadow box. I only am seeing “keep mat visible when cutting, remember, last mat size, warn me about firmware and use full font scan version.”

  4. Adrea says:

    Thanks for the tip, I’ll be sure to change that shortly. I noticed today that when I cut shadowed text, that the cricut doesn’t complete the cut so I end up needing to finish cutting the text out. Will your suggestion fix this?

Leave a Reply

