Happy Birthday svg file

Here is a Happy Birthday in a script font with mat.  It was designed for a card, but could be used anywhere that you want to say “Happy Birthday”.

happy birthday script

The download is a layered svg file for use with either version of SCAL.

My files are for personal use only.  Feel free to link to this post, but the files are not to be shared or distributed in any way.

Download the file from here.

13 Responses to Happy Birthday svg file

  1. Jeannette says:

    Hello Heather,

    Thank you for all your help. I thought I had it. I was able to create a mat with just text like Bonne fête. Bu when I did it on a circle and with flourishes and joints (to get the letters together), I could not get the Path/Union to work. I finally did path /combine, but then could not do a linked offset or a dynamic offset. I hate to ask you for so much help but I love your Happy Birthday script and I want to make one in French. Do you have or will you make a tutorial for this ?
    I have attached what I have done so far. Would you be kind enough to look at it and tell me what I am missing?
    Thank you in advance

    Jeannette

  2. Jeannette says:

    Yayyy! I did it. I fnally put it all together. Thank you so much! Wish I knew how to show you my little accomplishment

    You are a wiz!

    Jeannette
    Learning – one tutorial at a time 🙂

  3. Jeannette says:

    Whew! I’ve learned how to do flourishes. I’ve learned how to do text around a circle. I even made a flourish to decorate my B in “Bonne Fête” (this is happy birthday in french. When I do path union, my flourish loses it’s shape. When I do the editor to path method and do path/union the flourish still loses it shape. When I tried the copy bitmap and trace bitmap, I can’t get it to attach to the circle. I wish you had a full tutorial on just the Birthday script with mat. I seem to have difficulty putting two tuts together. :-(.

    • imagesbyheatherm says:

      Hi Jeannette,
      You need to use Path/Object to path on the flourishes made in Ink47 before you can use Path/Union. Then you should be able to use Path/Union. 🙂

  4. Jeannette says:

    Ok I guess I am a dunce. I get the whole text around the circle thing. Done a couple of cards using this method. Great stuff Heather. Your instructions were very clear. Where I am stuck at is the nice “cloud” you put behind the text. I really can’t figure out how to do this. Help please….
    Thank you so much.

    • imagesbyheatherm says:

      Hi Jeannette,
      I usually use Path/Linked offset to make mats behind my lettering. The original text needs to be one object: either text or Path. Select your letters, then from the menu use Path/Linked offset. Click on any of the colors at the bottom of the Inkscape window that will allow you to see the new mat as you change its size. Click on the small white square that is at the highest point on your text. Drag that away from your text until you like the look of the mat. When you like the look of the mat use Path/Union. If your text was not converted to Path, select just the text and use Path/Union on the text.

  5. Jeannette says:

    What is a linked offset to make the mat?

    • imagesbyheatherm says:

      There is a linked offset and dynamic offset tut on Cutting Time. If you are using Inkscape 0.47, don’t forget to select just the mat and use Path/Union. You will also want to use the node tool to clean up any stray nodes.

  6. Jeannette says:

    Thanks again Heather. I did it. Now I just have to figure out how to get the background. Your tutorial was very east to follow.

  7. Jeannette says:

    Thank you Heather

    I bought the cricut from my sister and made her birthay card using your svg. Brilliant!
    I would however, like to know how to modify it. I need to do the Happy Birthday part in French adding a name. Do you have a tutorial?

    • imagesbyheatherm says:

      I basically followed the steps in this tutorial. I added flourishes to some of the letters (Path/union), then used a linked offset to make a mat, followed by Path/Union on just the mat.

  8. Celeste says:

    Thank you so much for sharing. I love it.

  9. Carole says:

    Wow Heather this is brilliant thank you so much, just what i needed, you never fail to give the most brilliant files

Leave a Reply

