Angled box svg files

Here is another box by request from the SCAL forum.  This one is very similar to my bib overall bag, but this one has been reshaped a little and makes a closed box.  I designed this to open on the side, but it could also be opened from the top.  The file will make a box that is about 3 inches tall with a 2.8 by 2.8 inch base when cut with a 12×12 mat.  The baby bug can make a box that is just under 2 inches tall with a 1.75 inch base.  Once again I have included two versions of this box, one with score lines and one without.  🙂

Note:  When using the score lines with SCAL version 2.011 make sure that the file does not touch any of the cutting boundaries as the score lines will not cut right.  If you use the edge alignment buttons, nudge it away from the edge (once was enough to make it work).  Be sure to use the Preview button before cutting.

The download includes a layered svg file for use with SCAL2 and a single layer svg file. These files are for personal use only. Feel free to link to this post, but the files are not to be shared or distributed in any way.

Download the files from here.

5 Responses to Angled box svg files

  1. trijntje says:

    geweldig

  2. Laura Adams says:

    My gosh, Heather. Your blog has become my new favorite. Every time I come here, you have something that I’ve been looking for. Today I volunteered to make favor boxes for a friend’s daughter’s baby shower, which is in 3 days. I will be using this little box – so cute.

    I do have a technical question, though…

    The shower theme is butterflies & flowers, so I was working on a butterfly outline to which I could add colored wing inserts. I was trying to find out if there is a way to eliminate the double line that occurs when I use the bezier tool. My Cricut tends to do a neat cut the first time, and chew up the paper a little the second time around when there is this double line. Do you know of a way to prevent this second line from forming, other than to go around and eliminate the nodes by hand? I duplicated the object which had thick lines for the outline of the butterfly, and eliminated the inner line node-by-node. I then duplicated again, and did a Path-Dynamic Offset, and shrank the object so it would lie between the two thicker lines, so I could cut some wings from a different color. I wanted to thicken up this line so it would cut well, and when I did, I had two lines again. As a result, my Cricut goes around the outline of the object twice. Should I have just left it at the thin, single line? Thanks.

    • imagesbyheatherm says:

      Hi Laura,
      The bezier tool shouldn’t give you double lines. The exception is with Inkscape 0.47. If you create lines (not closed shapes) in Ink47 and then use Path/Union, it will double up the lines. This doesn’t create extra nodes though. Is it possible that you might be using the brush tool instead of the bezier tool?

      You don’t want to create thick lines for cutting unless you want to cut a frame rather than a solid shape. Just use your Offset that you created for cutting the smaller wings.

      • Laura Adams says:

        Heather, I am using 0.47, and it is the bezier tool. (Don’t think I’ve EVER used the brush tool.)
        I drew a straight line with the bezeir, and when I converted it to a path, and chose the node tool, there are two nodes at each end, stacked on top of each other. When I thickened the line this time, just to see what would happen, the line thickened, but the nodes stayed where they were, one on top of the other. I guess I saw on someone else’s video that I should thicken the lines to get a better cut. Won’t do that anymore! Thanks for the help.

  3. Thank you so much for this Freebie. I want to let you know that I posted a link to your blog in Creative Busy Hands Cricut Freebies Search List, under the Box, Purses, etc. post on Mar. 20, 2010. Thanks again.

Leave a Reply

