Airbrushing vinyl for my son’s Pinewood Derby car

Did you know that you can airbrush your vinyl with alcohol based art markers?  I found a video on YouTube where they used the Copic system to airbrush on vinyl.  I didn’t have the colors I needed for my project so I used some inexpensive art markers and a can of air with the air tube cut short and at an angle. I did have to seal my cheapo markers because the color had a tendency to scratch off, but in my case I wanted the gloss over the vinyl decal anyway.  I don’t think you would need to seal the Copic markers, but I would test it out before using them.  Here is my son’s Pinewood Derby car.  I used SCAL to cut all of the vinyl decals and then airbrushed the flames.  I think it turned out great!  🙂

5 Responses to Airbrushing vinyl for my son’s Pinewood Derby car

  1. Gina says:

    GORGOUS CAR!!!! I am kicking myself in the bottom now!!! I should ahve thought about this instead of buying the REALLY EXPENSIVE DECALS! LOVE the car! How did he race? My son placed first in his Den and Second in the entire pack! I am not sure who was more excited…dad or Scout!!???

  2. Just found your wedding silhouette that Lora used here: http://scrpbooklady.blogspot.com/2011/01/some-random-cards.html?showComment=1296340743987#c5107611587999881966. I love it and am so happy I found it!!!

  3. 7524kes says:

    Really awesome! Your son is a lucky kid.

  4. Smriti says:

    It looks so cool! I never knew we could use air brush with regular markers!

    • imagesbyheatherm says:

      Hi Smriti,
      You can only use Copic markers with the Copic airbrush system. I used a regular can of air with the air tube cut short and both hands to hold everything in position. It does work, but it is much harder to control.

Leave a Reply

