Did you know for eCAL and SCAL3 and WOYWW

Did you know that SCAL3 and eCAL can now import images that are embedded in SVG files?  It makes print and cut so much simpler since you can have it all in one svg file with the correct alignment of image with cutting lines.  If you are creating your own svg file, first bring your image into Inkscape using  open, import, or paste.  Then simply click on your image and from the menu select Extensions/Images/Embed images.  A pop-up window will appear.  I leave “Embed only selected images” checked and then click “Apply”.  Your image is now embedded in the svg file and you can close the Embedded Images box.   These steps are for Inkscape 0.47.  If I remember correctly, Inkscape 0.48 can automatically embed pasted pics.  So if you are using Ink48 it might not be necessary to do this or the steps might be different.

Also, Craft Edge just announced today that there are plug-ins for SCAL3 and eCAL to cut directly from Illustrator and Inkscape.  I haven’t tried it yet, but if it works well it will save a step or two when cutting.  The plug-ins are available here.

I missed What’s on Your Workdesk? Wednesday again last week, but I’m back on track this week (I hope).  Here’s my messy table.  I really, really need to clean it up.  My goal at this point is to clean it all up and find places for all of the odds and ends that are currently living on my table.  My current project is a LO of my DD and my cousin’s daughter at the campground.  I’m not happy with the current arrangement but I think some flowers and butterflies will help it out.     :)

2 Responses to Did you know for eCAL and SCAL3 and WOYWW

  1. butterfly says:

    Wow… I didn’t really get any of that first paragraph, but I’m much more at home with your lovely busy, creatively messy desk! It looks to me as though the layout is shaping up nicely, and I’m sure you’ll work out what you need to make you happy with it! Belated happy WOYWW!
    Alison x
    #4

  2. Julia says:

    I can’t get close enough to the LO to see what makes you unhappy about it, and Im guessing that really it’s lovely, but flowers will always enhance…flowers and daughters are Perfect, huh! ou have a lovely spread out-able desk…looks nice and deep from here!

Leave a Reply

