Painting with the colorless blender

The current challenge at A Day for Daisies is “painterly effects”.  In my YouTube ramblings I watched a video on using watercolor pencils and then on Maryanne Walker’s blog I read a post about tip to tip using the colorless blender and she mentioned that she actually didn’t use the tip for her tutorial, but actually used the blender pen to clean a dirty marker instead.  The dots connected in my head and I decided to do this for a watercolor like effect.  (Not to mention that my markers are in desperate need of cleaning).  I think it worked fairly well, but next time I might dig out one of the extra waterbrushes that I have (somewhere) and try it with blending solution.  The digi that I used was A Day for Daisies “Music in the Trees”.  I love how this image can be colored as simple or as elaborate as you wish.  

HeatherM using A Day For Daisies "Music in the Trees" digi

I’m entering this one in the following challenges:
A Day for Daisies “Painterly Effects
Hiding in my Craft Room “Super Scraps Saturday
Artistic Inspiration “Anything Goes/Add Some Bling
Crafting from the Heart “Anything Goes
Fitztown Challenge “Anything Goes
Through the Craft Room Door “Anything Goes
Inky Impressions “Primary Colors
Charisma Cardz “Lace & Pearls
Open-Minded Crafting “Roll out the red
Ladybug Crafts “Choose Your Favorite Image

8 Responses to Painting with the colorless blender

  1. Sammibug says:

    Thank you so much for playing along with us in our “Roll Out The Red” challenge at Open Minded Crafting! Hope to see you playing, again, next time! ~~Sammibug~~ DT Member For Open Minded Crafting

  2. erin says:

    What a lovely project! Thanks for joining us at Open Minded Crafting! We hope to see you next challenge and good luck!

  3. Wow this is really beautiful!!! Love the elegance of this card!!!

    Thanks for joining our fortnightly challenge here at Open Minded Crafting Fun Challenge. Hope you will join us next time co-owner Crafting Vicky.

  4. carol gill says:

    Beautiful CAS card love the image and dies-thanks for joining us at CFTH
    Carol DT x

  5. sandra says:

    Beautiful card, I love the colors!
    Thanks for joining the TTCRD challenges.
    Hugs,Sandra

  6. Jackie says:

    Is the Blender Pen basically just alcohol?

  7. txgrrlnnh says:

    Wow! This is great! I may try out your tip. I wanted to play along in that challenge but wasn’t sure I could do the ‘painterly effect’. You’ve inspired me! Thanks for joining us at Fitztown Challenge Blog. Hope to see you again and good luck!
    Ema
    FCB CT Coordinator

Leave a Reply

