Using layered svg files in SCAL 2.0

One of the great new features of SCAL 2.0 is that you can import layered svg files into SCAL and use the layers as they are, or use the ungroup feature to separate the svg layers and move them around.  You can get SCAL 2.0 here as either a new program or an upgrade.  I used Inkscape to create a card file with three layers, one to score the card for folding, one to use markers, and one to cut the card.  I created a separate layer for scoring rather than using dashed lines because you can use an old blade turned upside down in the blade holder to make score lines.    Here are the steps I used.

  1. Create an svg with a layer for each technique you want to use (ie a cutting layer, a scoring layer, a layer for each color of marker, etc).  Leave all of the layers that you wish to use in SCAL visible.
  2. Import the svg into SCAL.
  3. If the layer window in SCAL2 isn’t showing, from the menu, Window/Workspace/Advanced.  The layers window should be in the lower right corner.
  4. Click on the triangle next to the svg folder to reveal the svg layers.
    layer svg 1
  5. Open and close the eyes to determine what is in that layer, then click on the menu button at the top right corner of the layers box, select “Properties”, then change the name to represent that layer.  Do this for each layer.
  6. Close all of the eyes, then open them one at a time to use each layer.

Here is the card I made.  You could also use the marker layer to cut an overlay for the card instead of using a marker.  The download includes the svg file, a 2.0 scut for use with a 6×12 mat, and a 2.0 scut for use with an Expression.  These files are for personal use only. Feel free to link to this post, but the files are not to be shared or distributed in any way.

Download the files from here.

happy birthday card copy

11 Responses to Using layered svg files in SCAL 2.0

  1. bubba says:

    i have got to try this i have been fighting in inkscape .just starting use scal2 and inkscape. thanks barry

  2. Suzanne says:

    Have some paper piecing patterns that I bought and it is an svg file…when I import the layers on scal and try to ungroup them and then do layers….I must be doing something wrong here because it won’t let me hide or show them….trying to do this so I can just cut 1 color at at time….help Thanks, Suzanne

    • imagesbyheatherm says:

      Suzanne, is your Layers window visible in SCAL2? If not, then from the SCAL menu select Window/Workspace/Advanced. If that isn’t the problem, you might want to open the file in Inkscape and take a look at it there to see what was done with the file.

  3. lesliefolks says:

    oh yeah duh!!! I forget the ungroup in scal2 I was so used to not being able to do that!! And I have only had scal2 for two weeks so still figuring all the new cool stuff out!! thanks!!

  4. lesliefolks says:

    Heather I just realized this layer thing (the triangle)..I saw where people said it was seperated but then when I would open it just looked like one peice..ok so could you explaine how you put you othere colors on if you leave the mat in?? I guess I was thinking would cut one layer then remove add different color paper blah blah but its kinda making me think im going about it the long way!! I normaly do like you know 6×6 on color another different color so I dont have to remove the mat..but not sure how to do this with the layers..hope that made sense!!
    thanks for your help on everything!!

    • imagesbyheatherm says:

      Lesliefolks, you can either cut one color at a time by hiding and revealing the different layers, or you can ungroup the svg file and move the layers around on your virtual mat and cut as many colors at a time as will fit.

  5. Maggie says:

    Does the old blade also work for embossing, I’m wondering?

  6. Carole N. says:

    How smart you are! I would never have thought of turning an old blade upside down. I just replaced my blade last week, but thankfully I saved the old one. I am a saver. LOL

    Thanks for the wonderful tut and the lovely card.

    Hugs!

  7. joanne says:

    WOW.. Thankyou for the wonderful idea about using the blade upside down for scoring.. I just threw one out today but I had it in my scrappaper bag.. I’ll have to dig it out..LOL.. and thanks for the tutorial…

    • Craig says:

      Excellent information Heather
      I suppose you do not remove the artwork from the mat until you have finished all the processes?

      • imagesbyheatherm says:

        Right, if you are using layers to do different things, leave the mat in the machine until you are done with all layers.

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.